Search

GlobalSCAPE Knowledge Base

Can I prevent LDAP users from being synchronized until they log in?

Karla Marsh
EFT Express (SMB) & Enterprise

THE INFORMATION IN THIS ARTICLE APPLIES TO:

  • EFT, version 7.2 and later

QUESTION

Can I prevent LDAP users from loaded into EFT until they log in?

ANSWER

In EFT v7.4 and later, in the LDAP Authentications Options dialog box, select the Synchronize users only after they first attempt to log in check box to specify whether to load the LDAP user database into EFT all at once or to pull users one-by-one after successful logins (the latter would be better for performance).

In v8, all registry non-default settings are copied to a file named AdvancedProperties.JSON. If you want to change a setting from the default, you will need to add name:value pair to the JSON file. Please refer to the EFT v8 help file for details.

In EFT versions prior to v7.4, create the registry setting below:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\GlobalSCAPE Inc.\EFT Server 7.0\

Name: IgnoreNeverLoggedInLDAPUsers

Type: BOOL

Values: 0 = load all users (default); 1 = pull users one at a time as they log in

Cached: yes

Backup/Restore: yes

Details
Last Modified: 6 Months Ago
Last Modified By: kmarsh
Type: FAQ
Rated 5 stars based on 1 vote
Article has been viewed 12K times.
Options
Also In This Category
Tags