THE INFORMATION IN THIS ARTICLE APPLIES TO:
In Revit, the Central file is used to store the current ownership information for all entities and worksets in the project, and acts as the distribution point for all changes published to the file. When operating in worksharing mode, users work on a local copy of the Revit model and can save changes to the Central file so that other users can see their work. The local file is the same size as the Central file and can exponentially increase the storage space required for a project when multiple local files are saved on the network. You can control how often Revit's worksharing display modes and editing requests are updated in model views, to reduce network traffic.
To change the worksharing update frequency in Revit 2012
Click R logo, then click Options.
In the Options dialog box, click the General tab.
In the Worksharing Update Frequency area, move the slider all the way to the left for manual updates only. When set to manual, display mode information is only updated when you borrow elements; worksharing display does not generate network traffic.